The Book Corner: A review of, Spot Goes on Holiday

image_pdfimage_print

Image from funwithspot.com

Growing up in the 1980’s, I was a HUGE fan of the Spot ‘lift the flap’ books and watching the animated version on TV.

Written by Eric Hill over 35 years ago, Spot has become a firm family favourite all over the world. The books have been published in over 50 languages and are now also available in sign language and Braille editions.

His toddler-like behaviour, getting up to mischief and exploring the world around him resonated with children and parents alike, making him the superstar pup he is today.

I vividly remember sitting with my Nan at her house and her reading the book, “Where’s Spot?” to me as I sipped a cup of warm Ribena and chomped on a packet of Quavers (we only ever got a treat like Quaver’s at my Nan’s house…). In fact, when I think of Spot, more often than not, I think of my Mum and my Nan. Precious memories.

The novelty of having a flap to lift on a page, to encourage you to investigate and find out what was hiding behind it, was always so much fun. I was a very careful child and I always ensured I was gentle with my books. I liked things ‘just so’ and that’s something that hasn’t really changed. My youngest cousin however, well, she was a bit different. When she came along, I can recall one of the flaps getting ripped out of the book and having to be stuck back in with sticky tape. I was very upset, she thought it was funny. I still love her though and I suppose I will let her off now after over 20 years… 😉

Teaching children how to handle books is a very important life skill in my opinion. To be careful with the pages, to treat the book gently, to learn the fine motor skills required to turn the delicate pages over without tearing them. A life the flap book is another, fun way of teaching the children how to do this.


When I was offered an opportunity to review a re-release of a Spot ‘lift the flap book’, I jumped at the chance.

We don’t actually have any Spot books (all my childhood ones are lost somewhere in the abyss of my parents loft) so I took this as a wonderful opportunity to pass my childhood love of these books on to my youngest boy, Ben. He’s 2.5 and the perfect age to enjoy a Spot story.

The book we were sent was, Spot goes on Holiday. Again, this is a book I remember well from my childhood and it’s delivery was timely as were were due to go off to Wales on a Camping holiday that same week. Perfect! It would help explain to Ben what we were going to do and what he might see on our trip to the Welsh seaside.

Every night that week, me and Ben sat down together at bedtime and read the book. He loved it as much as I recall loving it.

We also ended up taking the book with us camping as a bedtime read because he loved it so much and he even recognised some of the pictures in the book from our own days out.

IMG_2002

IMG_2004

IMG_2012

IMG_2123

IMG_2149

He turned the pages carefully, he was excited to see what was hiding under the flaps on each page and was actively seeking out the part on the page where the flap might be after just a couple of pages. He was repeating the names of things back to me as I said them and he also began pointing at Spot and saying his name on each page when he found him. It was just adorable.

The story lines are simple, the characters are lovable, the illustrations are really colourful and child-friendly and there is a kindness about the books that I can’t quite explain but I know is there. Like seeing a friendly face, someone familiar, someone you know.

The book simply tells the story of Spot being told he is going to the beach for the day by his Mum and Dad. It shows them getting ready for their day out and it also shows what adventures Spot has at the beach. Ben thought it was really funny when Spot took the wrong persons towel near the end, this part has him giggling his head off most nights at the moment, accompanied by some mummy sound effects of a disgruntled hippo of course 😉

 I cannot recommend the Spot books enough if you have a little one. I would hazard a guess and say any child up to the age of 5 or so would love these books, and then, even once they are 6 or so and reading for themselves, I am sure they will still enjoy it to a certain extent. My middle one did, because the books are fairly simple language with bold print, he was more than capable of reading it to his little brother by himself. He then prompted his little brother to lift the flaps, to seek out the characters in the pages and loved sharing the story with him and was really proud of himself afterwards for being able to do that on his own.


 

Colouring Sheets

Image from funwithspot.com

 

Spot has had a bit of a rejuvenation online too and now has his own website!

We didn’t have that in the 1980’s! 😉

You can find the link to the new website here.

Once on there, you are able to download and print off some Spot colouring sheets, play a dressing up Spot game and find out more about the world’s most lovable puppy! My middle one loved playing the online game and we took some of the colouring sheets away camping with us.

If you are local to Cheltenham, UK, there is a Spot event being held at the Cheltenham festival in October 2016. Details can be found here.


 *Competition time*

If you would like to get your hands on your own Spot ‘Lift the Flap’ book, just enter my competition!

All you need to do is enter this Rafflecopter!

Competition closes Friday 19th August.

Winner will be announced on Saturday 20th August on my Facebook page so do swing by to check out if it was you who won!

I will then be in contact to organise sending the prize to you.

Spot says good luck! Woof!

contact-us

Image from funwithspot.com

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Do follow me over on Facebook to see if you’ve won!

Follow:

68 Comments

  1. August 11, 2016 / 2:32 pm

    Spot has his own website? How times have changed! My little grandson would love this book. That’s a lovely review, and it brings back memories of my own children reading the Spot books.
    #spot
    GeorgieMoon recently posted…“Cee’s Which Way Challenge” Aug 10My Profile

  2. Isabel O
    August 11, 2016 / 5:31 pm

    I’m so glad spot is still around! I used to have lots of his books when I was little so I hope my niece likes him too. 🙂 #spot

  3. Hayley F
    August 11, 2016 / 6:44 pm

    I remember these books from when i was younger. Glad to see spot is still going #spot

  4. Katrina Fox
    August 11, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I love spot, so glad to see they still do ‘lift the flap’ books too #spot

  5. Tracy Hanley
    August 11, 2016 / 9:15 pm

    Love reading the spot books to my son and now read them to my grandkids #spot

  6. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:55 pm

    Ah, I love that Spot has lasted and lasted. Thanks for entering Tracy!xx

  7. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:56 pm

    The oldies are always the best aren’t they Katrina?! Thanks so much for entering! Good luck!xx

  8. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    I do too Laura. I had no idea he can’t be referred to as a dog anymore though! A puppy, yes, a dog, no. Had to keep stopping myself from typing it! xx

  9. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:57 pm

    Ah, glad you have fond memories of old Spot too Hayley. Good luck with the competition! Gem.x

  10. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:58 pm

    Oh how sweet – I hope she likes him too, I’m sure she will! It’s hard not to. Thanks for entering and good luck Isabel!x

  11. admin
    August 11, 2016 / 9:59 pm

    Ah, thanks for entering Georgie. And thanks for the kind words as always. Gem.xx

  12. August 12, 2016 / 11:58 pm

    Spot is still a favourite in our bedtime routine. Well, maybe he not my son’s favourite, but I still like him. #spot

  13. Beky Austerberry
    August 13, 2016 / 1:26 am

    I used to read spot to my children – now I would like to introduce my niece to #spot

  14. Jo Glasspool
    August 14, 2016 / 12:36 am

    We love #spot

  15. admin
    August 14, 2016 / 8:35 am

    Thanks for entering Jo! Good luck!x

  16. admin
    August 14, 2016 / 8:36 am

    Thanks for entering Beky! Good luck to you!x

  17. admin
    August 14, 2016 / 8:37 am

    Thanks for entering Diego! Good luck! (I love spot more than the kids too )

  18. Jemma Dwyer
    August 14, 2016 / 7:06 pm

    loved these books as a kid i’m sure my little one would also 🙂 #spot

  19. admin
    August 14, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    Ah, I’m sure your little one would ☺️ Thanks for entering and good luck Jemma!x

  20. keri brooks
    August 14, 2016 / 11:50 pm

    I remember this when my sister was a baby. Don’t think my daughter even read 1 of these books would love to win #Spot

  21. admin
    August 15, 2016 / 3:00 am

    Ah. He’s been around a while has old spot hasn’t he! Thanks so much for entering Keri, good luck!!

  22. Carly Belsey
    August 15, 2016 / 6:19 am

    My son is 9 now and used to love these books, he even had a Spot DVD which my daughter now watches. I would love to win for my daughter 🙂

  23. admin
    August 15, 2016 / 6:51 am

    Ah! I love that Carly. The very best of luck to you! Thanks for entering.x

  24. Sarah Archibald
    August 15, 2016 / 3:14 pm

    I’d love this for my niece, my daughter loved the spot books when she was younger 🙂 #Spot

  25. esme mccrubb
    August 15, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    #SPOT – an old favourite of mine – I would love my boys to enjoy spot too

  26. admin
    August 15, 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Ah, thanks so much for entering Sarah! Good luck!x

  27. admin
    August 15, 2016 / 8:02 pm

    ☺️ thanks for entering Esme!! Good luck.xx

  28. Amy Skinner
    August 15, 2016 / 8:09 pm

    I’d love to read this with my son #spot

  29. admin
    August 15, 2016 / 9:50 pm

    Fingers crossed for you Amy! Good luck.xx

  30. Laura Harrison
    August 16, 2016 / 12:15 pm

    I would love to win this for my niece. I used to love Spot when I was a child xxx #spot

  31. admin
    August 16, 2016 / 5:54 pm

    Thanks so much for entering Laura!!!
    Good luck.xx

  32. Rebecca Mercer
    August 16, 2016 / 8:50 pm

    Would love this for my daughter #spot

  33. admin
    August 16, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    All the very best of luck Rebecca!!x

  34. Karen Barrett
    August 17, 2016 / 8:38 am

    Lovely prize, thank you #spot

  35. Jayne Kelsall
    August 17, 2016 / 5:38 pm

    I would love this for my son, he loves #spot

  36. admin
    August 17, 2016 / 11:26 pm

    Thanks for entering Karen! Good luck!x

  37. admin
    August 17, 2016 / 11:27 pm

    Oh bless him ☺️ All the very best of luck to you Jayne!x

  38. Emma h
    August 18, 2016 / 7:15 am

    My children will love these new books. We’ve a couple of the old ones about #Spot

  39. angela edmonds
    August 18, 2016 / 8:43 am

    My grandsons love spot the dog #spot

  40. Michaela Hannah
    August 18, 2016 / 9:20 am

    Love Spot, would make a fab birthday present for my friends daughter #spot

  41. lindsey graty
    August 18, 2016 / 10:11 am

    This would be perfect for my daughter’s birthday #Spot

  42. Samantha walker
    August 18, 2016 / 10:27 am

    Oh spot certainly brings back memories #Spot

  43. August 18, 2016 / 10:30 am

    This book would be perfect for my new grandson due in January you’re never too young to enjoy books #Spot

  44. August 18, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    I remember watching spot would love to win #spot

  45. dawn f
    August 18, 2016 / 12:46 pm

    fab my son is a huge fan of #Spot

  46. Clare Hubbard
    August 18, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    I remember ready spot when I was younger, just know my boys will love him, must find some of my books! #spot

  47. David Crabb
    August 18, 2016 / 4:30 pm

    He is an icon and a legend. Long live #Spot

  48. August 18, 2016 / 5:02 pm

    Oh, how we do love #spot

  49. Natalie Crossan
    August 18, 2016 / 6:13 pm

    I used to read these 🙂 reminds me of such happy times #spot

  50. Deborah Mackenzie
    August 18, 2016 / 8:20 pm

    #spot is the best!!!

  51. Holly Walker
    August 18, 2016 / 8:32 pm

    my daughter would truly love this she loves flap books and is one next month so trying to find her some gifts #spot

  52. Meena Hindmarch
    August 18, 2016 / 9:20 pm

    My youngest would love this! #spot

  53. Heather Dunk
    August 18, 2016 / 9:55 pm

    oh my gosh I remember reading these books when I was a kid, now I’m about to have one of my own!! would love to be able to win this and relive that nostalgia with my son! #spot

  54. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:41 pm

    Oh bless you Heather! How sweet!
    Thanks for entering and the very best of luck to you!
    Gem.x

  55. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:41 pm

    Good luck Meena!x

  56. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    Lift the flap books are the best! Good luck Holly and thanks for entering.x

  57. Niki Clifton
    August 18, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    i used to read these ooks to my now teenager this would be lovely to read to her youngest brother & sister who are 5 & 8 months

  58. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:42 pm

    Yes he is! Good luck Deborah!x

  59. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:43 pm

    Me too… 🙂 Good luck Natalie!x

  60. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    I do too. Good luck Louise!x

  61. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    Good luck Robyn! Thanks for entering!x

  62. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    I couldn’t agree more David! Thanks for entering!

  63. admin
    August 18, 2016 / 10:45 pm

    Me too Clare! They are hiding in my parents loft, must dig them out! Good luck!x

  64. Karl Borowy
    August 18, 2016 / 11:35 pm

    grandson loves spot #spot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge